Monday, October 27, 2014

Congratulations to Dr. Grant Padley

Congratulations to Dr. Grant Padley who was asked to be an oral examiner for the osteopathic orthopedic boards facilitated by The American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery (AOBOS)

These are candidates that have completed their residency and are going through the steps toward board certification. The oral exam is the second step of the process. The first is a written exam and the third is a site visit with chart review and surgical observation. This allows patients the confidence to know if their surgeon has board certification they have been thoroughly tested prior to receiving their certification.

The American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery

was established in 1979 and exists primarily for the purpose of assisting newly trained orthopedic surgeons in the certification process. The purpose of certification examination is to provide the public with a dependable mechanism to identify physicians who have met a standard to assure competent performance in the field of orthopedic surgery.

Certification for Osteopathic Orthopedic Surgeons was originally under the jurisdiction of the American Osteopathic Board of Surgery until the mid 1970's. The American Osteopathic Board of Surgery had one Orthopedist Member, Dr. Donald Siehl. The Orthopedic Examination for Certification (written, oral, and clinical) was given by Orthopedic Surgeons. Due to the increasing number of Residency Programs in the Osteopathic Profession in Orthopedic Surgery, and therefore the increase in number of graduates, the American Osteopathic Academy of Orthopedics began to lobby the American Osteopathic Association in the mid 1970's to form a Certifying Board for Orthopedic Surgeons.
A Committee was selected by the AOAO consisting of Peter Johnston from Columbus, OH; Dean Olson from Lansing, MI; Seymour Kaufman from Cherry Hill, NJ; William Monaghan from Kansas City, MO; and Bill Smith from Phoenix, AZ. This Committee began to develop the bylaws, regulations, and Manual of Procedures for the new Board, the American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery. The AOA approved formation of the AOBOS in mid 1978. The members of the Committee then became the founding members of the American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery. The first certification examination under their jurisdiction was given in 1979.
The first Chairman of the Board was Dr. Peter Johnston. The first Secretary-Treasurer was Dr. Dean Olson who served in this capacity until 1988. Membership on the Board attempted to represent the geographical areas reflecting larger concentrations of Orthopedic Surgeons. Some of the other Orthopedists who contributed by serving on the Board in its early days were Dr. William Luebbert, Dr. Bernard Zeliger, Dr. Gordon Thorn, Dr. Peter Ajluni, and Dr. Roger Grimes. Dr. Robert Kaneda began service on the Board in 1984 and developed the ties between the AOBOS and the National Board of Examiners. The NBME developed with Dr. Kaneda the AOBOS Test Committee to update the written and oral examinations.



No comments:

Post a Comment